Grimes Public Library Board of Trustees



200 N James St Grimes, IA 50111 Phone | 515.986.3551 grimeslibrary.org

Director | Cheryl Heid Assistant Director | Karalee Kerr Library Board | Gary Schroeder, Ann Haugland, Charles Strutt, Lynh Patterson, David Brahn

BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING July 18, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

Trustees:

President Gary Schroeder Vice-President Ann Haugland Secretary Charles Strutt Trustee Lynh Patterson, absent Trustee David Brahn City Council Liaison Eric Johansen, absent

Staff:

Library Director Cheryl Heid

<u>**1. Call to Order</u>**. Following proper notice and with a quorum present, President Schroeder called the meeting to order at 5:01 pm.</u>

2. Public Forum & Citizen Comments. No public member appeared to speak.

<u>3. Approval of Agenda</u>. On a motion by Haugland, seconded by Brahn, the agenda was unanimously approved.

<u>4.</u> Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes. On a motion by Strutt, seconded by Brahn, the minutes of the June 20, 2023 meeting were unanimously approved.

<u>5. Approval of Library Claims</u>. On a motion by Haugland, seconded by Brahn, the Board unanimously approved the claims submitted for the July meeting.

<u>6. Discussion and Approval of Petty Cash Policy</u>. On a motion by Brahn, seconded by Haugland, the Board unanimously approved the Petty Cash Policy.

7. Board Officer Nominations – July Elections. President Schroeder submitted the previous nominations and moved to elect Schroeder as President, Haugland as Vice-President, and Strutt as Secretary. Haugland seconded the nominations. The Board unanimously approved the nominations for Board officer positions.

8. Reports. The Board reviewed the following reports: (A) <u>Budget and Finance</u>; (B) <u>Statistics</u>; (C) <u>Board Continuing Education Report [See Attachment]</u>; (D) <u>Director's Report</u>; (E) <u>Building Report</u>; and (F) <u>Friends Update</u>.

<u>9.</u> Adjournment. There being no further agenda items, the President adjourned the meeting at 6:18 pm.

By: Charles Strutt, Board Secretary

harles the